Cobwebs In My Head

my HeadI’ve been feeling numb for a long time now. Drifting is the right word to describe this state. I have no desire for anything. Nothing pleases me in my new state of restless drift.

Everything around me is met with a heightened level of disinterest. The things which gave me satisfaction since lost their appeal. I am content within my bubble; No Guests Allowed.

I am not depressed, I just want to be left alone. To fall deeper into myself and swim in the recesses of mind till I emerge purged and whole again.

4 thoughts on “Cobwebs In My Head

  1. You know, I think I do understand this. For awhile I had this (and still do sometimes). My problem was (and is) that I don’t always trust people because of being let down all the time. So then I just stopped caring about, well…everything. I love being by myself partially because I’m mostly introvert and because I just said “Whatever” to the world without knowing it before it completely happened.

    I say all that to say to take a minute alone and take as long as you need to figure out if you are tuning out hurt (or are afraid of it) or you just had a few days. Best of luck 🙂

    Like

    • It’s good to know I’m not alone in the phase I am right now.
      To address what you raised, I think it’s a mix of both- tuning out and afraid of hurt. I’m hopeful I’ll snap out of it, if not, everyone would just have to take me as I am.

      Thanks for your insight, you’ve given me something to think about.

      Like

      • You are definitely not alone in this. Just to save you some additional time, I will tell you that I didn’t “snap out of it.” I had to force myself into situations that made me uncomfortable -not dangerously but maybe staying in the room and interacting in group talks (instead of going to the other room) or having the courage to text/call/talk to a person first or even ask for help even when I’m sure that they will say no to my request (and most times they said yes).

        To this day, I struggle with it but it is something to work on.

        Like

  2. Right. So there will be no snapping out of it, only deliberate action. Rip the band aid off slowly. I actually have been forcing myself into situations I would normally talk myself out of. It was a little scary and was a bit self conscious but it wasn’t so bad.

    I’ll just need to find more ‘scary’ situations to put myself in.
    Thanks for the insight.

    Like

I'll Like To Know What You Think

