In Spite Of The Ugly Parts…

As we mark a turning point in Nigeria’s history, I thought it apt to commemorate this day by penning down the things I’m most grateful for:

1. I am grateful for being able to flush out all the toxic connections that made me doubt my awesomeness; who made me sad and miserable.

2. I am grateful that I can finally commit to a lifestyle of fitness and healthy living. Goodbye emotional eating.

3. I am grateful that my nails look gorgeous due to the simple fact that I stopped publicly biting them.

4. I am grateful that I now turn to Charlene Johnson’s Turbo Fire instead of a bottle of spirit when I’m depressed or wound-up.

5. I am grateful that I can still feel pain, hurt and betrayal. Cos it means I’m still alive and better things are ahead.

6. I am grateful that I am still here, alive and well, in spite of it all.

Life could have turned out worse. I could have been an obese, bedridden, broke, drunk who ends up shooting herself at her lowest point. But I’m not. I am luckier than most.

In spite of the ugly parts, I am grateful.

2 thoughts on “In Spite Of The Ugly Parts…

I'll Like To Know What You Think

